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IMPAIRED DRIVING IN HAWAII

INCIDENCE OF IMPAIRED DRIVING
For one of every 90 miles driven in Hawaii in 1999, a person with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) >.08 sat
behind the wheel. Police in Hawaii reported 676 crashes involving a driver or pedestrian with a BAC of .01 or more.
Formulas developed by NHTSA were used to estimate the number of alcohol-related crashes where alcohol
involvement was not reported by the police. An estimated total of 36,800 crashes in Hawaii involved alcohol which
killed 43 and injured an estimated 1,560 people.

Impaired Driving by Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
In 1999, Hawaii drivers with:
• BACs of .10 and above were involved in an estimated 35,000 crashes that killed 31 and injured 1,400
• BACs between .08-.09 were involved in an estimated 600 crashes that killed 3 and injured 60
• Positive BACs below .08 were involved in an estimated 1,200 crashes that killed 9 and injured 100

COSTS
Alcohol is a factor in 27% of Hawaii’s crash costs. Alcohol-related crashes in Hawaii cost the public an estimated $0.5
billion in 1999, including $0.2 billion in monetary costs and almost $0.3 billion in quality of life losses. (For definitions of
the cost categories, see the definitions fact sheet.) Alcohol-related crashes are deadlier and more serious than other
crashes. People other than the drinking driver paid $0.2 billion of the alcohol-related crash bill.

Costs per Alcohol-Related Injury
The average alcohol-related fatality in Hawaii costs $5.3 million:
• $1.3 million in monetary costs
• $4.0 million in quality of life losses

The estimated cost per injured survivor of an alcohol-related crash averaged $150,000:
• $63,000 in monetary costs
• $87,000 in quality of life losses

Costs per Mile Driven
Crash costs in Hawaii averaged:
• $9.40 per mile driven at BACs of .10 and above
• $4.00 per mile driven at BACs between .08-.09
• $0.20 per mile driven at BACs of .00

Costs per Drink
The societal costs of alcohol-related crashes in Hawaii
averaged $0.80 per drink consumed. People other than the
drinking driver paid $0.40 per drink.

Impact on Auto Insurance Rates
Alcohol-related crashes accounted for an estimated 18% of
Hawaii’s auto insurance payments. Reducing alcohol-related
crashes by 10% would save $10 million in claims payments
and loss adjustment expenses.



Hawaii

2

PREVENTION SAVINGS OF IMPAIRED DRIVING MEASURES
Hawaii already has many important impaired driving laws. They are saving money and lives. The estimates that follow
describe the expected costs and savings, given Hawaii’s prices and impaired driving rates. The estimates assume
Hawaii’s laws achieve average U.S. effectiveness levels.

Administrative License Revocation: Laws that allow police or driver licensing authorities to revoke a driver’s license
swiftly and automatically for refusing or failing a BAC test have reduced alcohol-related fatalities by 6.5% on average
and saved an estimated $148,900 per driver sanctioned. The value of the driver’s lost mobility is the large majority of
the estimated $7,400 cost per driver sanctioned. Reinstatement fees assessed to offenders typically cover start-up and
operating costs.

Zero Tolerance Law: Laws like Hawaii’s that make it illegal for persons under 21 to drive with a positive BAC have
reduced impaired-driving fatalities by 4% on average. Per licensed youth driver, these laws cost approximately $90 and
yield net savings of $2,000. Medical care cost savings alone exceed the intervention cost. The primary cost is the value
of mobility lost by youth who are forced to reduce their drinking or driving.

.08 BAC Law: A well-publicized State law lowering driver BAC limits to .08 can potentially reduce alcohol-related
fatalities by an average of 7%. On average, Hawaii’s .08 law saves an estimated $114 per licensed driver. The value of
mobility losses and alcohol sales reductions resulting from the law are the large majority of the estimated $8 cost per
licensed driver.

Minimum Legal Drinking Age (MLDA): To reduce alcohol-related fatal crashes among youth, Hawaii has adopted
a MLDA of 21. It saves an estimated $1,500 per youthful driver. The loss of liquor sales is the large majority of the
$450 cost per youthful driver.

POTENTIAL SAVINGS FROM FURTHER PREVENTION EFFORTS
A number of additional strategies can mitigate the harm from impaired driving. The following paragraphs estimate the
potential savings, in Hawaii’s prices, if other proven impaired driving prevention measures were widely implemented in
Hawaii.

Intensive Sobriety Checkpoint Program: Intensive enforcement of Hawaii State BAC limits with highly visible
sobriety checkpoints would reduce alcohol-related fatalities by at least 15% and save approximately $172,200
per checkpoint. Including police resources, costs of travel delay and the value of mobility losses by impaired
drivers apprehended and sanctioned, the costs of conducting a checkpoint average about $24,400.

Graduated Licensing: Graduated licensing is a three-stage program that involves a learner’s permit,
intermediate (provisional) license, and full licensure. To advance between stages, young drivers are required to
demonstrate responsible driving behavior. Graduated licensing with a midnight curfew could reduce youth
fatalities by at least 5% and total alcohol-related fatalities by 2%. If implemented, savings could amount to an
estimated $1,400 per youthful driver in Hawaii. The value of the mobility lost by youth would be a large portion
of the estimated $190 cost per youthful driver.

Enforcing Serving Intoxicated Patrons Law: Using undercover police officers to enforce the State law against
serving alcohol to intoxicated bar and restaurant patrons would reduce alcohol-related crash fatalities by an estimated
11%. It would cost an estimated $0.80 per licensed driver and save about $60 per licensed driver.

Server Training: Server training programs provide education and training to servers of alcoholic beverages with
the goal of altering their serving practices to prevent patron intoxication and alcohol-impaired driving. Generally,
40% to 60% of intoxicated patrons drive after consuming alcohol in bars, clubs or restaurants. A statewide, full-
day, mandatory, face-to-face server training program with active management support has the potential to reduce
nighttime DUI injury crashes by 17%. Implementing such a program costs an estimated $190 per licensed driver
and saves about $600 in crash costs per licensed driver.
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INTERVENTIONS TARGETING REPEAT OFFENDERS
Not many repeat offenders are deterred by broad impaired driving laws. Four alternative sanctioning approaches
have proven especially effective at reducing repeat offenses.

Automobile Impoundment: Impounding vehicles after conviction for DUI or driving while suspended can decrease
recidivism by an estimated 38% and DUI crashes by about 4%. Overall, per vehicle impounded, enforcement of this
law would cost Hawaii approximately $2,200 and save on average $11,400.

Ignition Interlock: Breathtesting ignition interlocks are designed to prevent anyone with a positive BAC from starting
or driving a car. Attaching an interlock to a car for a year after its operator is convicted of driving while intoxicated
would reduce recidivism by an estimated 75% and alcohol-related fatalities by 7%. It would save almost $21,900
per vehicle equipped. Including equipment and case management costs, interlock costs would total approximately
$2,640 per vehicle.

Electronically Monitored House Arrest: Electronic monitoring is an alternative to incarcerating repeat
offenders. It provides assurance of an offender’s presence within an assigned area. Monitoring programs attach a
device to the wrist or ankle that relays a continuous signal to a computer and also may require offenders to relay a
breath test when prompted by a random phone call. Implementation of this program could decrease recidivism by
an estimated 31%, causing DUI crashes to decrease by about 3% in Hawaii.  Per person arrested, the program
would cost nearly $3,900 and could avoid an estimated $14,400 in crash costs and almost $4,970 in incarceration
costs.

Intensive Probation Supervision with Treatment: Intensive probation supervision with treatment is an
alternative to incarcerating repeat offenders. This early intervention program seeks to reduce alcohol-impaired
driving by addressing repeat offenders’ drinking habits and provides intensive individual counseling and
monitoring. Implementation of this program in Hawaii could decrease recidivism by an estimated 48%, causing
DUI crashes to decrease by 4%. Typically, per person arrested, this program costs approximately $3,300 and can
avoid an estimated $16,100 in crash costs and $1,400 in incarceration costs.
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PREVENTION SAVINGS OF OCCUPANT PROTECTION MEASURES
Along with impaired driving interventions, a number of important occupant protection strategies reduce impaired driving
and other highway injuries.

Primary Safety Belt Law: Hawaii’s primary safety belt law allows law enforcement to stop and ticket a driver for
nonuse of a safety belt without requiring the driver to be cited for or have committed another offense. Unbelted
occupants account for 83% of impaired driving fatalities in Hawaii. Savings amount to an estimated $12,800 per
new belt user. If enforced with frequent belt-use checkpoints, the value of temporary discomfort experienced by some
new belt wearers and travel delay costs at checkpoints are the large majority of the law’s estimated $770 cost per new
belt user.

Child Safety Seat Law: Infants and children who are seated in places other than the back seat account for nearly 34%
of child fatalities in Hawaii and those seated in the back seat without proper restraints account for an additional 32% of
child fatalities. Drinking drivers are more likely than other drivers to transport children improperly. Traveling in a child
seat reduces the chance of a crash death by an estimated 71% for infants and 54% for children aged 1-4. Child safety
seat laws like Hawaii’s typically reduce occupant fatalities of children age 4 and under by approximately 15% and their
alcohol-involved deaths by a similar amount. The average child seat costs approximately $45 but avoids nearly $4,500
in injury costs.

Motorcycle Helmet Use Law: Statewide, 18% of alcohol-related crash fatalities are motorcyclists; 84% of these
motorcyclists were unhelmeted. A motorcycle helmet law that covers all riders in Hawaii could save lives and prevent
devastating and debilitating head injuries. Wearing a motorcycle helmet reduces a rider’s risk of death by 29% and
nonfatal injury risk by 15%. On average, helmets cost about $600 in Hawaii and prevent nearly $10,000 in injury costs.

The estimates reported here were produced under National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Contract DTNH22-98-D-35079, Task Order 7.
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