
 
 
 
JURISDICTION: INDIANA 
General Reference: Burn's Indiana Statutes Annotated and Indiana Administrative Code (IAC) 
 
Required Use of Safety Belts1: 
 

Requirements: When a passenger motor vehicle2 is in motion, the driver and every front 
seat passenger shall be secured in a safety belt.  '9-19-10-2 
Enforcement.  A vehicle may be stopped to determine compliance with 
this requirement.  However, neither the vehicle, its contents, driver nor 
passengers may be searched.   '9-19-10-3 & Baldwin v. Reagan, 715 
N.E.2d 332 (Ind. 1999) 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use or 
Require the Use of Safety Belts: Class D Infraction:  A fine of not more than $25.  ''9-19-10-8(a) & 34-28-

5-4(d)  Note:  Points may not be assessed against a person's driving record 
for a violation of this requirement.  '9-19-10-8(b) 

 
Effect on Civil Liability: Failure to comply does not constitute fault and does not limit the liability of 

an insurer.  '9-19-10-7(a)  Except in product liability situations, a failure to 
comply may not be admitted in a civil action to mitigate damages.  '9-19-
10-7(b) & (c) 

 
Required Use of Child Safety Restraint Systems3: 
 

Requirements: I.  Before operating a motor vehicle, a driver must secure a child ≥4 but 
<12 years old in a child passenger restraint system or safety belt.  '9-19-
10-2.5 
II.  Before operating  a motor vehicle, a driver must secure a child who is 
<4 years old in either a child passenger restraint system or, if  the child will 
not fit in such a system, a seat belt.  ''9-19-11-2 & 9-19-11-3 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Require 
the Use of Child Restraint Systems: Class D Infraction:  A fine of not more than $25.4  ''9-19-10-2.5, 

Required Use of Child Safety Restraint Systems: 
(continued) 
 

Sanctions for Failure to Require 
the Use of Child Restraint Systems: 
(continued) 9-19-11-2, 9-19-11-3 & 34-28-5-4(d)  Note:  An abstract of a violation of 

this requirement is forwarded to the bureau of motor vehicles for inclusion 

                         
     1Exemptions.  The requirement to wear a safety belt does not apply in the following circumstances:  (1) To persons who cannot wear a 
safety belt for medical reasons; (2) to children who are required to use a child passenger restraint system; (3) to persons traveling in 
commercial or U.S. Postal Service vehicles that make frequent stops for the purpose of picking up or delivering goods and services; (4) to rural 
letter carries of the U.S. Postal Service when performing official duties; (5) to persons delivering newspapers; and, (6) to persons performing 
the duties of a driver license examiner.  '9-19-10-1 

     2The requirement to wear a safety belt applies to passenger motor vehicles that are equipped with safety belts that meet Federal Motor 
Vehicle Safety Standards (49 CFR 571.208)  '9-19-10-2  For the purpose for safety belt usage, the term Apassenger motor vehicle@ is defined 
as Aa motor vehicle designed for carrying passengers @ which  includes buses, school buses and private buses but excludes trucks, tractors and 
recreational vehicles.  '9-13-2-123(b) 

     3Exemptions.  The requirement that certain children use either a child passenger restraint system or seat belt does not apply to drivers 
operating either (1) a school bus, (2) a taxicab, (3) a rental vehicle for ≤30 days, (4) an ambulance, (5) vehicles not registered in Indiana and 
operated for ≤60 days, (6) a public passenger bus, (7) a vehicle with a seating capacity >9 individuals and owned by a religious or not-for-
profit organization, (8) an antique motor vehicle, (9) a motorcycle, (10) a motor vehicle owned or leased by a governmental unit and that is 
being used for law enforcement duties and (11) a motor vehicle that is being used in an emergency.  '9-19-11-1 
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in the person's driving record.  '9-19-11-7  Four (4) points are assessed 
against a person's driving record. 140 IAC '1-4.5-10 

 
Effect on Civil Liability: Failure to comply with this requirement does not constitute contributory 

negligence.  '9-19-11-8 
 
Required Use of Motorcycle Protective Headgear: 
 

Requirements: A person <18 years old shall wear State approved protective headgear 
when operating or riding on a motorcycle or motorized bicycle.  ''9-19-7-
1(1), 9-21-10-9 & 9-21-11-13 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use: Class C Infraction:  A fine of not more than $500.  ''9-19-7-3, 9-21-11-14 

& 34-28-5-4(c)  Four (4) points are assessed against a person's driving 
record. 140 IAC '1-4.5-10 

 
Required Use of Motorcycle Eye Protection Device: 
 

Requirements: A person <18 years old shall wear protective glasses, goggles or 
transparent face shield when operating or riding on a motorcycle or 
motorized bicycle.  ''9-19-7-1(2), 9-21-10-9 & 9-21-11-13 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use: Class C Infraction:  A fine of not more than $500.  ''9-19-7-3, 9-21-11-14 

& 34-28-5-4(c) 
 
Required Use of Bicycle Protective Headgear: 
 

Requirements: None 
 

Sanctions for Failure to Use: 
 
Required Use of Bicycle Eye Protection Device: 
 

Requirements: None 
 

Sanctions for Failure to Use: 
 
Prohibition Against Riding in Unsecured 
Portion of Vehicle: 
 

Requirements: None5 
 

Sanctions for a Violation:  

                         
     5Even though there is no statutory authority prohibiting this activity, such a prohibition may have been indirectly established for certain 
children via the provisions of the Child Safety Restraint Systems law. 
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