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JURISDICTION: OREGON 
General Reference: Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 
 
Required Use of Safety Belts1: 
 

Requirements: I.  Before a person operates a motor vehicle2, they must secure themselves 
in a safety belt.  '811.210(1)(a). 
II.  A driver cannot operate a motor vehicle2 unless all passengers <16 
years old are secured in a safety belt, child safety system or safety harness. 
 '811.210(1)(b) 
III.  A motor vehicle passenger ≥16 years old must secure themselves in a 
safety belt.  '811.210(1)(c) 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use or 
Require the Use of Safety Belts: Class D Traffic Violation3:  A fine of not more than $75.4  ''153.018(1) & 

(2), 801.550 and 811.210(3) 
 

Effect on Civil Liability: Evidence of a failure to comply with these requirements may be admitted 
only to mitigate damages.  The mitigation of damages cannot be >5% of 
the damages that would have otherwise been awarded.  '18.590(1)  
However, this restriction does not apply if nonuse of a safety belt was as 
substantial or contributing cause of the accident which resulted in the 
personal injuries.  '18.590(2)(B) and Rectenwald v. Snider, 894 P.2d 1242 
(Or.App. 1995) 

 
 
 

                         
     1Exemptions.  The requirements to use a safety belt, child safety system or safety harness do not apply in the following circumstances:  (1) 
To persons riding in privately owned commercial vehicles which are designed to carry persons for compensation (profit) or to carry property 
(This exemption does not apply to pickup tucks weighing <8,000 lbs.); (2) to persons riding in vehicles that were not required to be equipped 
with safety belts or safety harnesses at the time the vehicle was manufactured; (3) to persons who are riding in vehicles that have been 
specifically exempted from having safety belts or safety harnesses under '815.080; (4) to a person who cannot use either safety belt, child 
safety system or safety harness because such use would be impractical or harmful to the person by reason of physical condition, medical 
problem or body size; (5) to passengers where all of the available seating positions are already occupied; (6) to persons being transported in 
the custody of a law enforcement officers; (7) to persons who are delivering newspapers of mail when in the regular course of work; (8) to 
persons who are administering medical aid to anther individual while riding in an ambulance where the use of a safety belt or safety harness 
would substantially inhibit such aid; (9) to persons who are reading utility meters in the regular course of work; (10) to persons who are 
employed to operate a vehicle owned by a mass transit district while the vehicle is being used for the transportation of passengers; and, (11) to 
persons who are collecting solid waste or recyclable materials in the regular course of work.  ''801.210, 811.215 & 811.220 

      2The requirements to use either a safety belt or child safety system applies to motor vehicles that are primarily designed for the 
transportation of individuals and that have seating for one or more passengers side-by-side with the operator.  '811.215(3) & 815.080(1)(a) 

       3There is also a Unitary Assessment of $35 and a County Assessment of between $5 and $59.  ''137.290(1)(d) & 137.309 

     4I.  Depending upon the number of traffic offenses a person has committed, a person may have to participate in a Driver Improvement 
Program.  Under this program, a person's driving privileges can be restricted and, in some cases, suspended.  ORA 735-72-000 et seq.  II.  A 
provisional licensee (a licensee <18 years old) who violates '811.210 is subject to the following sanctions.  For a 1st offense, a letter is issued 
warning the licensee of the consequences of continued violations.  However, if the licensee has a previous traffic offense conviction, which 
includes a prior violation of '811.210, their driving privileges are suspended until they complete a driver improvement program.  '809.405 

Required Use of Child Safety Restraint Systems1: 
 

Requirements: I.  A driver, when transporting a child <4 years old and weighing ≤40 lbs. 
in a motor vehicle2, must secure such child in State/Federally approved 
child safety system.  ''811.210(1)(b) & (2)(a) and 815.055(1)(b) 
II.  A driver, when transporting a child ≥4 years old in a motor vehicle2, 
must secure such child in either a safety belt or State approved safety 
harness.  '811.210(1)(b) & (2)(b) 
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Sanctions for Failure to Require 
the Use of Child Restraint Systems: Class D Traffic Violation3:  A fine of not more than $75.4  ''153.018(1) & 

(2), 801.550 and 811.210(3) 
 

Effect on Civil Liability: Evidence of a failure to comply with these requirements may be admitted 
only to mitigate damages.  The mitigation of damages cannot be >5% of 
the damages that would have otherwise been awarded.  '18.590(1)  
However, this restriction does not apply if nonuse of a safety belt was as 
substantial or contributing cause of the accident which resulted in the 
personal injuries.  '18.590(2)(B) 

 
Required Use of Motorcycle Protective Headgear5: 
 

Requirements: A person, who operates or rides on a motorcycle or a moped, must wear a 
motorcycle helmet.  ''814.260(1), 814.269(1), 814.275(1) & 814.280(1) 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use: Class D Traffic Violation3:  A fine of not more than $75.4  ''153.018(1) & 

(2), 801.550, 814.260(4), 814.269(3), 814.275(3) and 814.280(3) 
 
Required Use of Motorcycle Eye Protection Device: 
 

Requirements: Note:  This requirement is indirectly covered by the above requirement to 
wear a motorcycle helmet. 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use:  

 
Required Use of Bicycle Protective Headgear6: 
 

Requirements: I.  A person <16 years old, who operates or rides on a bicycle, must wear 
protective headgear.  '814.485(1) 
II.  A person cannot operate a bicycle with a passenger <16 years old 
unless such passenger is wearing protective headgear.  '814.486(1)(b) 

 
 
 
Required Use of Bicycle Protective Headgear: 
(continued) 
 

Requirements:  (continued) III.  It is illegal for a parent or legal guardian to allow their child <16 years 
old to operate or ride a bicycle unless such child wears protective headgear. 
 '814.486(1)(b) 

 

                         
     5The requirement to wear a motorcycle helmet does not apply if (1) the person is riding in an enclosed cab or (2) a person is riding in a 
vehicle that is designed to travel with three wheels at a speed <15 MPH.  ''814.260(2), 814.269(2), 814.275(2), 814.280(2) & 814.290 

     6A person is exempt from this requirement if the use of bicycle protective headgear would violate a religious belief or practice of the 
person.  '814.487 
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Sanctions for Failure to Use: Traffic Infraction (Violation)3:  A fine of not more than $25.7  ''801.550, 

814.485(3) & 814.486(3) 
 
Required Use of Bicycle Eye Protection Device: 
 

Requirements: None 
 

Sanctions for Failure to Use: 
 
Prohibition Against Riding in Unsecured 
Portion of Vehicle: 
 

Requirements: None8 
 

Sanctions for a Violation:  
 

Exemptions:  

                         
     7If the offender is ≤11 years old, a citation for a violation of this requirement is issued to that child's parent or legal guardian.  '814.488(1)  
If the offender is ≥12 but <16 years old, a citation for a violation of this requirement may be issued to either the child or to the child's parent or 
legal guardian.  Note:  Citations cannot be issued to both the child and the parent or legal guardian.  '814.488(2) 

         8The safety belt usage and child passenger protection laws may have indirectly established such a prohibition. 
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