
 
 

VEHICLE OCCUPANT PROTECTION IV 
- 141 - 

 
 
 
JURISDICTION: TENNESSEE   
General Reference: Tennessee Code Annotated and Rules and Regulations of the State of 

Tennessee (RRST) 
 
Required Use of Safety Belts1: 
 

Requirements: I.  A person shall not drive a passenger motor vehicle2 unless they and all 
front seat passengers ≥4 years old are restrained by a safety belt.  '55-9-
603(a)(1), (a)(2), (b)(1)  
II.  Drivers 16 or 17 years old shall wear a safety belt when operating a 
motor vehicle in a Aforward motion.@  '55-9-603(i)(1) 
III.  Motor vehicle passengers between the ages of 16 and 18 years old 
shall wear a safety belt when occupying any seating position.  '55-9-
603(i)(2) 
Note:  For passenger ≥4 but <12 years old, see Required Use of Child 
Safety Restraint Systems below. 
Secondary Enforcement.  For the requirement in I, no citation or warrant 
for an arrest shall be issued for a violation of this requirement unless the 
person who has been stopped by a law enforcement officer and has been 
issued a citation or arrest warrant for a separate violation of the law.3  '55-
9-603(f)(1)   Note:  The law specifically provides that a law enforcement 
officer may issue a citation to but cannot arrest a person for an observed 
violation of the requirements in either II or III.  '55-9-603(i)(3) 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use or 
Require the Use of Safety Belts: Class C Misdemeanor:  An imprisonment term of not more than 30 days 

and/or a fine of not more than $50.  ''40-35-111(e)(3) & 55-9-603(d)(1) 
Alternative.  In lieu of a court appearance, an offender may, for a 1st 
offense, pay a fine of $10 and, for a 2nd or subsequent offense, pay a fine 
of $20.  '55-9-603(d)(2) 
Important.  A driver cannot be fined for a violation of this requirement for 
the failure of a passenger >16 years old to wear a safety belt.  '55-9-606 
Note:  Neither court costs nor a litigation tax shall be imposed.  '55-9-
603(e)  In addition, no points can be assigned to an offender's driving 
record for a violation of this requirement.  '55-9-603(g) 

 
Effect on Civil Liability: Generally, a violation of this requirement is not admissible into evidence in 

a civil action.  '55-9-604 & Cheatham v. Thurston, 654 

                         
     1Exemptions.  The requirement to wear a safety belt does not apply in the following circumstances:  (1) To persons who cannot wear a 
safety belt because of a physical disability; (2) a rural letter carrier of the U.S. Postal Service while performing official duties; (3) automobile 
dealership salespersons or mechanics who test drive 50 or more vehicles a day and where test drives are within 1 mile of the dealership; (4) 
utility workers while performing official duties; (5) water, gas and electric meter readers in the course of their employment; and, (5) persons 
who are in the process of delivering newspapers.  '55-9-603(h)  

     2The term "passenger motor vehicle" means a vehicle having a gross vehicle weight ≤8,500 lbs. and which is not used as a public livery 
conveyance for passengers.  In addition, such term does not include a motor vehicle that does not have to be equipped with safety belts under 
Federal law.  '55-9-603(c) 

     3A law enforcement officer observing a violation of this requirement shall only issue a citation for such violation.  A law enforcement 
officer cannot take a person into custody solely for such a violation.  '55-9-603(f)(2) 

Required Use of Safety Belts:  (continued) 
 

Effect on Civil Liability:  (continued) F.Supp. 216 (S.D. Ohio 1986).  This case applied Tennessee law '55-9-214 
which was transferred to '55-9-604.  
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Required Use of Child Safety Restraint Systems4: 
 

Requirements: I.  A person, when transporting a child <4 years old in a motor vehicle5, 
shall secure such child in a Federally approved child passenger restraint 
system.  '55-9-602(a) 
II.  A person, when transporting a child ≥4 through 15 years old in a motor 
vehicle5, shall either secure such child in a Federally approved child 
passenger restraint system or in a safety belt.  '55-9-602(g)(1) 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Require 
the Use of Child Restraint Systems: Class C Misdemeanor:  An imprisonment term of not more than 30 days 

and/or a fine of not more than $50.  ''40-35-111(e)(3) and 55-9-602(c)(1) 
Alternatives.  I.  For violation of I above, in addition to or in lieu of the 
above sanctions, an offender may be required to attend a class on the 
hazards of not transporting children properly.  '55-9-602(c)(2) 
II.  For a violation of II above, in lieu of a court appearance, an offender 
may a fine of $20.  Also, no court costs or litigation tax may be assessed 
against an offender.  '55-9-602(g) 
III.  Note:  The law does not appear to assign points for a violation of these 
requirements. 

 
Effect on Civil Liability:  

 
Required Use of Motorcycle Protective Headgear: 
 

Requirements: A person who operates or rides as a passenger on a motorcycle or 

                         
     4Exemptions.  I.  The requirement to use a child passenger restraint system does not apply if the mother either (1) is nursing the child or (2) 
is attending to its other physiological needs.  '55-9-602(b)  In addition, the requirement to use either a child passenger restraint system or 
safety belt for children ≥4 through 15 years old does not apply in the bact seat if all seat belts or other passenger restraints are already 
occupied.  '55-9-602(g)(5)  II.  Comment:  Tennessee law provides, that before a motor vehicle can be sold in the State, it must be equipped 
with a safety belt.  However, motor vehicles manufactured prior to the 1964 model year, public or livery conveyance passenger motor vehicles 
weighing ≤8,500 lbs. and any motor vehicle that is not required by Federal law to be equipped with safety belts are exempt from this 
requirement.  '55-9-601  Although the law is not specific, there would appear to be an indirect exemption from the use of child passenger 
protection systems in motor vehicles that are not required to have safety belts by reason of the fact that safety belts are need in order to secure 
child passenger protection systems in place.  The law does not require that motor vehicles be retrofitted with safety belts. 

     5Note:  The term "motor vehicle" does not have a special definition in the child passenger protection law.  Consequently, the general 
definition of Amotor vehicle@ applies.  ''55-8-101(30) & 55-9-101 and Ag. Op. 87-76, April 29, 1987, 1987 Tenn. AG LEXIS 121 
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motorized bicycle must wear a State approved crash helmet.6  '55-9-302(a) 
 This requirement does not apply to persons riding in an enclosed cab.  
'55-9-302(b) 

Required Use of Motorcycle Protective Headgear: 
(continued) 
 

Sanctions for Failure to Use: Class C Misdemeanor:  An imprisonment term of not more than 30 days 
and/or a fine of not more than $50.  ''40-35-111(e)(3) & 55-9-306 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use: (continued) Note:  The law does not appear to assign points for a violation of this 

requirement. 
 
Required Use of Motorcycle Eye Protection Device: 
 

Requirements: A person who operates or rides as a passenger on a motor-driven cycle or 
motorized bicycle shall wear either safety goggles, face shields or glasses 
containing impact resistant lenses.  This requirement does not apply if the 
vehicle is equipped with a windshield.  '55-9-304 

 
 

Sanctions for Failure to Use: Class C Misdemeanor:  An imprisonment term of not more than 30 days 
and/or a fine of not more than $50.  ''40-35-111(e)(3) & 55-9-306  Note:  
The law does not appear to assign points for a violation of this requirement. 

 

 
     6A violation of this requirement will not be a bar to the recovery of damages based on contributory negligence grounds provided  such 
violation did not contribute to the cause of the accident.  Brown v. Smith, 604 S.W.2d 56 (Tenn.App. 1980) 
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Required Use of Bicycle Protective Headgear7: 
 

Requirements: I.  A person <16 years old cannot operate or be a passenger on a bicycle 
unless they are wearing a protective cycle helmet.  '55-52-105(1) 
II.  It is an offense for either a parent or legal guardian knowingly permit 
their child to violate the above requirement. 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use: I.  Violation:  An adult who violates the above requirement is guilty of a 

violation and is liable for a fine $2 plus court costs.  '55-52-106(a) 
II.  For a 1st violation, the law provides that only a warring citation may 
be issued.  For either a 2nd or subsequent violation, a citation may be 
issued by no arrest can be made.  '55-52-106 
III.  Note:  A violation of this requirement is not admissible as evidence in 
any civil action.  '55-52-106(c) 

 
Required Use of Bicycle Eye Protection Device: 
 

Requirements: None 
 

Sanctions for Failure to Use: 
 
 
 
 
 
Prohibition Against Riding in Unsecured 

                         
     7A person either who weighs <40 lbs. or who is <40 inches tall must be secured in a restraining seat when being transported on a bicycle.  
'55-52-105(2)  Note:  The sanctions for a violation of this requirement are the same as for a failure to use a bicycle safety helmet. 

 
 - 144 - 
VEHICLE OCCUPANT PROTECTION IV 



TENNESSEE 
 
 
 

 
Portion of Vehicle 8: 
 

Requirements: I.  A[O]n the streets of any municipality, roads of any county, or the 
highways of this state,@ a person shall not transport a child <6 years old in 
the bed of a truck with a manufacturer's ton rating not exceeding three-
quarter (3/4) ton and having a pickup body style.  '55-8-189(a) 
II.  On Aany interstate defense highway or state highway,@ a person shall 
not transport a child ≥6 but <12 years old in the bed of a truck with a 
manufacturer's ton rating not exceeding three-quarter (3/4) ton and having 
a pickup body style.  '55-8-189(b)(1)  Note: A city or county may establish 
this same prohibition on its roads or highways.  '55-8-189(b)(2) 

 
Sanctions for a Violation: Class C Misdemeanor:  An imprisonment term of not more than 30 days 

and/or a fine of not more than $50.  ''40-35-111(e)(3) & 55-8-189(b)  
Note:  The law is not specific as to whether points can be assigned for a 
violation of this requirement.  However, since this offense is codified under 
the rules of the road provisions of the vehicle code, an offender may be 
subject to a 3 point assessment against their driving record under the 
miscellaneous point assessment provisions of the point system regulations. 
 RRST Ch. 1340-1-40.03 

 
Exemptions: I.  This requirement does not apply if the child is being transported in the 

bed of such a vehicle as part of an organized parade, possession or other 
ceremonial event and when the vehicle is not traveling >20 MPH.  '55-8-
189(c) 
II.  This requirement does not apply if the child is being transported in the 
bed of such vehicle when it Ais involved in agricultural activities.@  '55-8-
189(d) 

                         
      8"The General Assembly hereby strongly urges the Department of Safety to take all necessary and prudent measures to alert persons of the 
dangers of minor children riding in the back of pickup trucks.  The Department of Safety is urged to use public service announcements, 
advertising, public meetings and any other means available to inform the public of the risks to minors from riding in the back of pickup trucks.@ 
 '1 of Public Chapter No. 888 (1998) 
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