
 
 - 161 - 

VEHICLE OCCUPANT PROTECTION IV 

 
 
 
JURISDICTION: WASHINGTON 
General Reference: Revised Code of Washington Annotated and Washington Administrative 

Code (WAC) 
 
Required Use of Safety Belts1: 
 

Requirements: I.  A person ≥16 years old, who is either operating or riding in a motor 
vehicle2, shall wear a safety belt.  '46.61.688(3) 
II.  No person shall operate a motor vehicle2 unless all child passengers <16 
years old are either wearing a safety belt or using some other approved 
child restraint device.  '46.61.688(4) 
Secondary Enforcement.  Enforcement of these requirements may only be 
accomplished as a secondary action when a driver has been detained for a 
suspected violation of State or local motor vehicle laws or some other 
offense.  However, if a child < 16 years old must be secured in an approved 
child restraint device, enforcement is primary.  '46.61.688(7) 
See Required Use of Child Restraint Systems below. 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use or 
Require the Use of Safety Belts: Traffic Infraction:  Not more than $250.3  ''46.61.688(5) & 46.63-110(1)  

Note:  A violation of these requirements shall be recorded on a driver's 
record. However, such information shall not be available to insurance 
companies or employers.  '46.61.688(5) 

 
Effect on Civil Liability: Failure to comply with these requirements does not constitute negligence.  

In addition, failure to wear a safety belt cannot be admitted into evidence as 
negligence in any civil action.  '46.61.688(6) & Patterson v. Horton, 929 
P.2d 1125 (Wash.App. 2 Div. 1997) 

 
 
 

                         
     1Exemptions.  The requirement to wear a safety belt does not apply in the following circumstances:  (1) To persons, who are operating or 
riding in motor vehicles that are not required to be equipped with safety belts under Federal law; (2) to persons, for whom no safety belts are 
available, when all designated seating positions are occupied; (3) to persons, who for physical or medical reasons, are unable to wear a safety 
belt; and, (4) to persons, who the State has exempted via regulation and who are operators or occupants of farm vehicles, construction 
equipment and vehicles that are required to make frequent stops.  '46.61.688(2), (8) & (9) 

     2The term "motor vehicle" means either (1) a bus designed to carry >10 persons, (2) a Amultipurpose passenger vehicle@ designed to carry 
≤10 persons, (3) a passenger car and (4) a truck.  However, the term does not include either (1) motorcycles or (2) trailers designed to carry 
≤10 persons or to transport property.  '46.61.688(1)  Important.  The safety belt use law only applies to motor vehicles that are required to 
meet the manual seat belt standards under Federal law (49 CFR 571.208). 

     3Fine Schedule.  The State supreme court is required to establish a monetary penalty schedule of traffic infractions.  '46.63.110.  Under 
this law, a fine of $35 has been established for this offense.  Washington Court Rules 6.2(b) & (d) 
Licensing Action.  Although the law does not provide a specific licensing sanction for this offense, the State may suspend a person's licensing 
for not more than 1 year based upon an offender's frequent conviction for traffic infractions.  ''46.20.291(3) & 46.20.311(1)  A person is 
considered a frequent violator of the traffic laws if they either commit 4 traffic offenses with 12 months or 5 such offenses within 24 months.  
WAC 308-104-035 
Public Safety and Education Assessment.  In addition to any other fine, an offender is subject to two public safety and education 
assessments.  The first assessment is equal to 60% of any fine imposed.  The second is equal to 50% of the first.  '3.62.090(1) & (2) 
Other Monetary Penalties.  An offender is also subject to a $5 fee which is used to support the emergency medical services and trauma case 
system.  '46.63.110(6) 



WASHINGTON 
 
 
 
 
Required Use of Child Safety Restraint Systems4: 
 

Requirements: I5.  A person, when transporting a child, who is <6 years old and/or  who 
weighs <60 lbs., in a motor vehicle6, shall secure such child in a Federally 
approved system child restraint provided that the seating position is 
equipped with a safety belt system that allows sufficient space of 
installation.  '46.61.687(1)(a) 
II5.  A person, when transporting a child, who is <1 year old or who weighs 
<20 lbs., in a motor vehicle6, shall secure such child in a rear-facing infant 
seat.  '46.61.687(1)(b) 
III5.  A person, when transporting a child, who is >1 year old but <4 years 
old  or who weighs ≥20 lbs. but <40 lbs., in a motor vehicle6, shall secure 
such child in a forward facing child safety seat.  '46.61.687(1)(c) 
IV5.  A person, when transporting a child, who is 4 years old but <6 years 
old or who weighs ≥40 lbs. but <60 lbs. in a motor vehicle6, shall secure 
such child in a child booster seat7.  '46.61.687(1)(d) 
V5.  A person, when transporting a child, who is ≥6 years old but <16 years 
old or who  weighs >60 lbs., in a motor vehicle6, shall secure such child in 
either a safety belt which has been properly adjusted and fastened or an 
appropriately fitting booster seat7.  '46.61.687(1)(e) 
VI.  A person, when transporting a child, who is <6 years old or who 
weighs <60 lbs. in a motor vehicle6 that is equipped with an activated 
passenger side air bag system, shall transport such child, if practical to do 
so, in the back seat.  '46.61.687(1)(f) 
Note:  It is illegal to transport a child <5 years old on a motorcycle or 

                         
     4Exemptions.  These requirements do not apply in the following circumstances:  (1) to children riding in for hire vehicles; (2) to children 
riding in vehicles designed to transport ≤16 persons (including the driver) and that are operated by auto transportation companies; (3) to 
children riding in vehicles providing customer shuttle service between parking, convention and hotel facilities and airport terminals; and, (4) 
school buses.  '46.61.687(4) 

     5Important.  This requirement does not apply if the seating position has only a lap belt available and the child weights >40 lbs.  
'46.61.687(6) 

     6The term "motor vehicle" means passenger cars that are required by law to have safety belts.  ''46.37.510 & 46.61.687(1)  The "passenger 
car" is defined as every motor vehicle, except motorcycles and motor-driven cycles, that is used to and designed to carry ≤10 persons.  
'46.04.382 

     7"Child booster seat@ is defined to mean Aa child passenger restraint system that meets Federal Motor Vehicle Standards set forth  in 49 CFR 
571.213 that is designed to elevate a child to properly sit in a federally approved lap/shoulder belt system.@  '46.61.687(5) 
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motor-driven cycle.  '46.37.530(d) 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Require 
the Use of Child Restraint Systems: Traffic Infraction:  Not more than $250.3  ''46.61.687(2) & 46.63-110(1) 

 
Effect on Civil Liability: Failure to comply with these requirements shall not constitute negligence 

by a parent or legal guardian.  In addition, failure to use a child restraint 
system is not admissible as evidence of negligence in any civil action.  
'46.61.687(3) & Patterson v. Horton, 929 P.2d 1125 (Wash.App. 2 Div. 
1997) 

  
Required Use of Motorcycle Protective Headgear8: 
 

Requirements: A person, who operates or rides on a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or 
moped, must wear State approved protective helmet.  '46.37.530(c) 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use: Traffic Infraction:  Not more than $250.3  ''46.63.020 & 46.63.110(1) 

 
Required Use of Motorcycle Eye Protection Device: 
 

Requirements: A person, who operates a motorcycle or a motor-driven cycle, which does 
not have a windshield, must wear State approved glasses, goggles or a face 
shield.  '46.37.530(1)(b) 

 
Sanctions for Failure to Use: Traffic Infraction:  Not more than $250.3  ''46.63.020 & 46.63.110(1)   

Required Use of Bicycle Protective Headgear: 
 

Requirements: None 
 

Sanctions for Failure to Use: 
 
Required Use of Bicycle Eye Protection Device: 
 

Requirements: None 
 

Sanctions for Failure to Use: 
 
Prohibition Against Riding in Unsecured 
Portion of Vehicle: 
 

Requirements: None9 
 

Sanctions for a Violation:  
 

Exemptions:  

                         
     8Failure to wear a helmet is not an affirmative defense to the causation of an accident.  Keller v. City of Spokane, 82 Wash. App. 1061 
(Wash. App. 1996) (The State supreme court denied review, 936 P.2d 417 (Wash. 1997).) 

     9The safety belt usage and child passenger protection laws may have indirectly established such a prohibition. 
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