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IMPAIRED DRIVING IN WASHINGTON

INCIDENCE OF IMPAIRED DRIVING
For one of every 130 miles driven in Washington in 1996, a person with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) >.08 sat
behind the wheel. Police in Washington reported 12,226 crashes involving a driver or pedestrian with a BAC of .01 or
more. Formulas developed by NHTSA were used to estimate the number of alcohol-related crashes where alcohol
involvement was not reported by the police. An estimated total of 69,440 crashes in Washington involved alcohol which
killed 331 and injured an estimated 25,700 people.

Impaired Driving by Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
In 1996, Washington drivers with:
• BACs of .10 and above were involved in an estimated 66,100 crashes that killed 286 and injured 22,500
• BACs between .08-.09 were involved in an estimated 1,140 crashes that killed 13 and injured 1,000
• Positive BACs below .08 were involved in an estimated 2,200 crashes that killed 32 and injured 2,200

COSTS
Alcohol is a factor in 29% of Washington’s crash costs. Alcohol-related crashes in Washington cost the public an
estimated $3.4 billion in 1996, including $1.7 billion in monetary costs and almost $1.7 billion in quality of life losses.
(For definitions of the cost categories, see the definitions fact sheet.) Alcohol-related crashes are deadlier and more
serious than other crashes. People other than the drinking driver paid $2.2 billion of the alcohol-related crash bill.

Costs per Alcohol-Related Injury
The average alcohol-related fatality in Washington costs $3.7 million:
• $1.2 million in monetary costs
• $2.5 million in quality of life losses

The estimated cost per injured survivor of an alcohol-related crash averaged 110,000:
• $56,000 in monetary costs
• $54,000 in quality of life losses

Costs per Mile Driven
Crash costs in Washington averaged:
• $9.30 per mile driven at BACs of .10 and above
• $4.10 per mile driven at BACs between .08-.09
• $0.20 per mile driven at BACs of .00

Costs per Drink
The societal costs of alcohol-related crashes in
Washington averaged $1.30 per drink consumed. People
other than the drinking driver paid $.90 per drink.

Impact on Auto Insurance Rates
Alcohol-related crashes accounted for an estimated 21%
of Washington’s auto insurance payments. Reducing
alcohol-related crashes by 10% would save $63 million in
claims payments and loss adjustment expenses.
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PREVENTION SAVINGS OF IMPAIRED DRIVING MEASURES
Washington already has many important impaired driving laws. They are saving money and lives. The estimates that
follow describe the expected costs and savings, given Washington’s prices and impaired driving rates. The estimates
assume Washington’s laws achieve average U.S. effectiveness levels.

Administrative License Revocation: Laws that allow police or driver licensing authorities to revoke a driver’s license
swiftly and automatically for refusing or failing a BAC test have reduced alcohol-related fatalities by 6.5% on average
could save an estimated $63,100 per driver sanctioned. The value of the driver’s lost mobility would be the large
majority of the estimated $3,100 cost per driver sanctioned. Reinstatement fees assessed to offenders typically cover
start-up and operating costs.

Zero Tolerance Law: Laws like Washington’s that make it illegal for persons under 21 to drive with a positive BAC
have reduced impaired-driving fatalities by 4% on average. Per licensed youth driver, this law costs approximately $40
and yields net savings of $900 Medical care cost savings alone exceed the intervention cost. The primary cost is the
value of mobility lost by youth who are forced to reduce their drinking or driving.

.08 BAC Law: A well-publicized State law lowering driver BAC limits to .08 can potentially reduce alcohol-related
fatalities by an average of 7%. On average, a .08 law in Washington could save an estimated $48 per licensed driver.
The value of mobility losses and alcohol sales reductions resulting from the law would be the large majority of the
estimated $3.40 cost per licensed driver.

Minimum Legal Drinking Age (MLDA): To reduce alcohol-related fatal crashes among youth, Washington has
adopted a MLDA of 21. It saves an estimated $600 per youthful driver. The loss of liquor sales is the large majority of
the $190 cost per youthful driver.

Graduated Licensing: Graduated licensing is a three-stage program that involves a learner’s permit, intermediate
(provisional) license, and full licensure. To advance between stages, young drivers are required to demonstrate
responsible driving behavior. Graduated licensing with a midnight curfew could reduce youth fatalities by at least 5% and
total alcohol-related fatalities by 2%. Savings amount to an estimated $600 per youthful driver in Washington. The value
of the mobility lost by youth is the large majority of the estimated $80 cost per youthful driver.

POTENTIAL SAVINGS FROM FURTHER PREVENTION EFFORTS
A number of additional strategies can mitigate the harm from impaired driving. The following paragraphs estimate the
potential savings, in Washington’s prices, if other proven impaired driving prevention measures were widely implemented
in Washington.

Intensive Sobriety Checkpoint Program: Intensive enforcement of Washington State BAC limits with highly visible
sobriety checkpoints would reduce alcohol-related fatalities by at least 15% and save approximately $72,900 per
checkpoint. Including police resources, costs of travel delay and the value of mobility losses by impaired drivers
apprehended and sanctioned, the costs of conducting a checkpoint would average about $10,300.

Enforcing Serving Intoxicated Patrons Law: Using undercover police officers to enforce the State law against
serving alcohol to intoxicated bar and restaurant patrons would reduce alcohol-related crash fatalities by an estimated
11%. It would cost an estimated $0.40 per licensed driver and save about $30 per licensed driver.

Server Training: Server training programs provide education and training to servers of alcoholic beverages with the
goal of altering their serving practices to prevent patron intoxication and alcohol-impaired driving. Generally, 40% to
60% of intoxicated patrons drive after consuming alcohol in bars, clubs or restaurants. A statewide, full-day, mandatory,
face-to-face server training program with active management support has the potential to reduce nighttime DUI injury
crashes by 17%. Implementing such a program costs an estimated $80 per licensed driver and saves about $300 in
crash costs per licensed driver.
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INTERVENTIONS TARGETING REPEAT OFFENDERS
Not many repeat offenders are deterred by broad impaired driving laws. Four alternative sanctioning approaches have
proven especially effective at reducing repeat offenses.

Automobile Impoundment: Impounding vehicles after conviction for DUI or driving while suspended can decrease
recidivism by an estimated 38% and DUI crashes by about 4%. Overall, per vehicle impounded, enforcement of this
law would cost Washington approximately $900 and save on average $4,800.

Ignition Interlock: Breathtesting ignition interlocks are designed to prevent anyone with a positive BAC from starting
or driving a car. Attaching an interlock to a car for a year after its operator is convicted of driving while intoxicated
would reduce recidivism by an estimated 75% and alcohol-related fatalities by 7%. It would save almost $9,300 per
vehicle equipped. Including equipment and case management costs, interlock costs would total approximately $1,120
per vehicle.

Electronically Monitored House Arrest: Electronic monitoring is an alternative to incarcerating repeat offenders. It
provides assurance of an offender’s presence within an assigned area. Monitoring programs attach a device to the wrist
or ankle that relays a continuous signal to a computer and also may require offenders to relay a breath test when
prompted by a random phone call. Implementation of this program could decrease recidivism by an estimated
31%, causing DUI crashes to decrease by about 3% in Washington. Per person arrested, the program would cost
nearly $1,600 and could avoid an estimated $6,100 in crash costs and almost $2,090 in incarceration costs.

Intensive Probation Supervision with Treatment: Intensive probation supervision with treatment is an alternative to
incarcerating repeat offenders. This early intervention program seeks to reduce alcohol-impaired driving by addressing
repeat offenders’ drinking habits and provides intensive individual counseling and monitoring. Implementation of this
program in Washington could decrease recidivism by an estimated 48%, causing DUI crashes to decrease by 4%.
Typically, per person arrested, this program costs approximately $1,400 and can avoid an estimated $6,300 in crash
costs and $6,800 in incarceration costs.
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PREVENTION SAVINGS OF OCCUPANT PROTECTION MEASURES
Along with impaired driving interventions, a number of important occupant protection strategies reduce impaired driving
and other highway injuries.

Primary Safety Belt Law: Washington’s primary safety belt law allows law enforcement to stop and ticket a driver for
nonuse of a safety belt without requiring the driver to be cited for or have committed another offense. Unbelted
occupants account for 76% of impaired driving fatalities in Washington. The law saves an estimated $5,400 per new
belt user. If enforced with frequent belt-use checkpoints, the value of temporary discomfort experienced by some new
belt wearers and travel delay costs at checkpoints are the large majority of the law’s estimated $330 cost per new belt
user.

Child Safety Seat Law: Infants and children who are seated in places other than the back seat account for nearly 50%
of child fatalities in Washington, and those seated in the back seat without proper restraints account for an additional
29% of child fatalities. Drinking drivers are more likely than other drivers to transport children improperly. Traveling in a
child safety seat reduces the chance of a crash death by an estimated 71% for infants and 54% for children age 1-4.
Child safety seat laws like Washington’s typically reduce occupant fatalities of children age 4 and under by
approximately 15% and their alcohol-involved deaths by a similar amount. The average child seat costs approximately
$45 but avoids nearly $1,900 in injury costs.

Motorcycle Helmet Use Law: Statewide, 6% of alcohol-related crash fatalities are motorcyclists; 19% of these
motorcyclists were unhelmeted. The motorcycle helmet use law in Washington saves lives and prevents devastating and
debilitating head injuries. Wearing a motorcycle helmet reduces a rider’s risk of death by 29% and nonfatal injury
risk by 15%. On average, helmets cost about $250 in Washington and prevent nearly $4,200 in injury costs.

The estimates reported here were produced under National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Contract DTNH22-98-D-35079, Task Order 7.
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