Appendix I

State Motorcycle Equipment Requirements

STATE ON-HIGHWAY MOTORCYCLE EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS

Motorcycle Industry Council

JULY 2000

	Safety Helmet	Eye Protection	Rearview Mirror	Brakes	Handlebar Height	Passenger Seat*	Passenger Footrests*	Passenger Handhold*	Headphones Prohibited	Turn Signals	Speedometer/ Odometer	Daytime Headlight Use	Periodic Inspection
Alabama Alaska	• •-p	•-k	• •-11	•-13 •-13	•-17 •-17	:	:		١.	•-#			•-25
Arizona	•-4	•-j		•-12	•-17		•			"			•-23
Arkansas	•-6	•	•	•-12		•	•	•				•	•
California	•		•	•-13	•-19	•	·		•-n	•-b		•-i	•-25
Colorado		•	•	•-12		•	•		•-o				•-25
Connecticut	•-4	• -j	•	•-13g	•-17	•	·			١•	•-22a	•-e	•-25
Delaware Dist. of Col.	•-1,7	<u>*</u>	1:	•-12 •-13	●-17 ●-17#	 :	l:	l_		١•	•-20		:
	•-V	•-j •	<u> • </u>	•-13	•-17# •-17	 	<u>.</u>	•	•-o	-	•-20	+	·
Florida Georgia	•	 • -j	1:	•-13g	•-17	1:	:		•-9	•-d		:	
Hawaii	•-4	•-j		•-12	•-17	1.			"	•-#			 .
Idaho	•-4	- '	•	•-12		1.	•						
Illinois		•	•	•-12	•-19	•			•-o				
Indiana	•-4,m	•-4		•-13	• -17	•	•					•	
lowa				•-12	•-17	•	•				•	•-h	
Kansas	•-4	• -j	•-10	•	•-19	•	•			•-b		•-21	•-25
Kentucky	•-r	•	•	•-12		•	•						
Louisiana Maiora	•-t •-3	• -j	•-10	•-12 •-13	•-17	:	 •		•-n, o			1.	1:
Maine Mandand	•-3	 j	•-11	•-13 •-13	•-19 •-17	l .	l:	•-#	•-n		•-#	1.	•-24
Maryland Massachusetts	•	•-j		•-13	•-17		•	1-17	•	•-b	10-11	_	-24
Michigan		•-2j	:	•-13	•-17	1:	:		1	1 5			•-25
Minnesota	•-4,m	• ⁻	.	•-12	•-19				•-n				•-25
Mississippi	•			•-12	•-14#						•-20#		•
Missouri	•			•-12	•-17#								•
Montana	•-4		•	•-13		•	•			•		•	
Nebraska	•		l	•-12	•-16	•	·						
Nevada	•	•-j	•-11	•-13	•-19	 :	·			1.	1		1.
New Hampshire	•-4 •-1	•-j	•	•-12 •-12, (13g#)	•-17 •-19			•-#		•-b	•-#		 :
New Jersey New Mexico	•-4	•-j •-j	1:	•-12, (13g#) •-13	•-19 •-17	:	:						•-25
New York	•	l.,	1.	•-13	•-17	1.			•-n	•-s	•-20f	.	. 20
North Carolina	•		·	•-12		i.			 	+-	•-20	•	· ·
North Dakota	•-1,4		•	•-13	•-17	-							
Ohio	•-4,8	• -j		•-12	•-17	•	•		•-n, o	•-W			•-25
Oklahoma	•-4	• -j	•-11	•-13	•-15	•	•				•-20	•	•
Oregon	•		•	•-12		•	·		١.	•-b		•	•-25
Pennsylvania	•	•	•	•-13#	•-19	•	•	•	•-9		•-a#		· ·
Rhode Island	•-5 •-1.6	• •-6j	•-(10#)	•-12 •-13	•-17 •-17	:	 :	·	•		•-20a#	1.	•
South Carolina South Dakota	•-4	•-oj •-j	1.	•-13 •-13	•-17 •-19	:	:					•	
Tennessee	•	•-j	1	•-12	•-17	i .	 		 	_		+	+
Texas	•-q	l · ,	:	•-13	•-17#	:	*					•-u	.
Utah	•-4		•-10	•-12	•-19, (17#)			•-#	1	•-a#	•-22	1	 •
Vermont	•-1	•-j	•-#	•-12	•-17	•	•		İ				•
Virginia	•	•-j	•	•-13c	•-17		•		•-n, o		1		•
Washington	•	• -j	•-11	•-13a	•-18	•	•		•-o			•	•-25
West Virginia	•	•.	·	•-12	•-17	•	•					•	·
Wisconsin	•-4,m	•-k	•	•-12	•-18	•	•	1	I	1	•	•	•-25
Nyoming	•-4		•-10	•-12	•-19								

- Requirement in law
- * If carrying a passenger1. Reflectorization
- Where speeds exceed 35 mph
- 3. With learner's permit; for 1 yr. after obtaining license; & passengers under 15 yrs.

- $5. \ \ Operators \ under \ 21 \ yrs.; for \ 1yr. \ after \ obtaining \\ \ \ 21. \ \ For \ motorcycle \ manufactured \ after \ 1/1/78$ license; & all passengers
- 7. Possession by all, wear under 19 vrs. & by
- 9. Prohibited except for communication
- 10. Left side
- 11. Left and right side
- 12. One wheel 13. Both wheels
- instruction permit holders 8. Novice license holders
- a. If originally equipped by manufacturer
 b. For motorcycle manufactured after 1/1/73

16. Maximum of 15" above fasten point 17. Maximum of 15" above seat

19. Handgrips below shoulder height

18. Maximum of 30" above seat

23. Annual emissions inspection

24. Upon transfer of title

20. Speedometer

- c. For motorcycle manufactured after 7/1/74
- d. For motorcycle manufactured after 1/1/72
- e. For motorcycle manufactured after 1/1/80
- f. For motorcycle manufactured after 9/1/80

- g. For 1974 or later model year motorcycle h. For 1977 or later model year motorcycle
- Manufacturer requirement for motorcycle manufactured after 1/1/78
- Except if equipped with windscreen
- Except if equipped with windscreen 15" or higher
- m. Instructional permit holders
- n. Prohibited in both ears simultaneously
- o. Except helmets with speakers Operators under 18 yrs.; all passengers
- q. Except for 21 yrs. & over with rider ed or with health insurance with \$10,000 medical benefits for motorcycle related injuries
- r. Under 21 yrs., operators with instruction permit, or those having held motorcycle license less
- than 1 yr. s. For 1985 or later model year motorcycle

- t. Except for 18 yrs. & over with health insurance with \$10,000 medical benefits for bodily
- u. For 1975 or later model year motorcycle v. Except for 21 yrs. & over with health insurance with \$10,000 medical benefits for
- w. For motorcycle manufactured after 1/1/68
- # Required by inspection regulations

Many state inspection regulations require that any equipment installed on a motorcycle must function properly even though the equipment is not required

This information is provided by the Motorcycle Industry Council Government Relations Office. The chart will be updated annually as State Legislatures continue to pass and/or amend motorcycle equipment requirements. Please contact the Motorcycle Industry Council offices for additional information concerning motorcycle equipment requirements. Although this chart represents information from the most authoritative sources available as of the date shown above, the Motorcycle Industry Council is not responsible for accuracy or completeness.

Information concerning equipment requirements in Canada can be obtained from the Motorcycle & Moped Industry Council (MMIC) at 3780 14th Ave., Suite 211, Markham, Ontario, Canada L3R 9Y5; Phone/Fax: (905) 470-6123.

Government Relations Office • 1235 Jefferson Davis Highway, Suite 600 • Arlington, Virginia 22202-3261 • (703) 416-044

Executive Office • 2 Jenner Street, Suite 150 • Irvine, California 92618-3806 • (949) 727-4211