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An illegal per se law makes it an offense in and of itself to
drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measured at
or above the established legal level, whether or not the driver
or operator exhibits visible signs of intoxication. Lowering the
BAC limit to .08 sets the legal limit to a point at which driving
skills are proven to be compromised. At .08 BAC, all drivers,
even experienced drinkers, show impairment in driving ability.
For the great majority, there is serious deterioration in

driving performance at .08 BAC.

Measuring IMpairment -me o

alcohol in a person’s body is measured by the weight of the
alcohol in a certain volume of blood. This is the blood alcohol
concentration, or “BAC.” The measurement is based on grams
per deciliter (g/dl), and in most states a person is considered
legally intoxicated if his or her BAC is .10g/dl (.10) or greater;
that is, alcohol makes up one-tenth of one percent of the
person’s blood.

With each drink consumed, a person’s BAC increases.
Although outward appearances vary, virtually all drivers and
motorcycle operators are substantially impaired at .08 BAC.
Laboratory and on-road research shows that the vast majority
of drivers, even experienced drinkers, are significantly impaired
at .08 with regard to critical driving tasks such as braking,
steering, changing lanes, divided attention tasks, and
judgement. The risk of being in a crash rises gradually with
each BAC level, but then rises very rapidly after a driver
reaches or exceeds .08 BAC, compared to drivers with no
alcohol in their system.
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While there is no “safe” amount of alcohol for drivers, most people can drink
moderately and drive legally when the illegaber se limit is set at .08 BAC. A
170-pound male typically would have to consume more than four drinks in one hour
on an empty stomach to reach a BAC of .08. A 135-pound female typically would
have to consume three drinks in the same time frame.

.08 LaWS Workrhe National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

(NHTSA) examined the effects of lowering the

legal BAC limit from .10 to .08 and implementing

an administrative per se law in California. The two

new laws, and the associated publicity, reduced the number of expected
alcohol-related fatalities by 12 percent in 1990.

Another study* on the effects of lowering BAC levels
to .08 compared the first five states to lower their
BAC limit to .08 (California, Maine, Oregon, Utah,
and Vermont) with five nearby states that retained
the .10 limit. Overall, the .08 states experienced a =3
16 percent reduction in the proportion of fatal crashes .
with a fatally injured driver whose BAC was .08 or
higher, as well as an 18 percent reduction in such
crashes with a fatally injured driver whose BAC
was .15 or higher.

* Hingson, R., Heeren, T., and Winter, M. (1996) “Lowering State Legal Blood
Alcohol Limits to 0.08%: The Effect on Fatal Motor Vehicle Crashes,” American
Journal of Public Health, Vol. 86 (9) pp. 1297-1299.




State LaWS As of July 1997, 48 states have a per se law (the exceptions are

Massachusetts and South Carolina). In 35 of those
states, the legal limit is .10 BAC per se. Fourteen other
states have .08 as the legal limit.

States With"Per Se” Laws

1 .08 BAC
(AL, CA, FL, HI, ID,

KS, ME, NH, NM,
NC, OR, UT, VT, VA)

1 .10BAC
(AR, AZ, AK, CO, DE,

GA, IA, IL, IN, KY,
LA, MA, MD, MI,
MN, MO, MS, MT,
ND,NE, NJ, NV, NY,
OH, OK, PA, RI, SD,
TN, TX, WA, WI,
WV, WY)

[ No Per Se Law
(MA, SC)




A 08 BAC law serves as a deterrent to
drlnklng and d”Vlng, sends a message that the state is getting tougher

on impaired driving, and makes people think about driving
after they’ve had too much to drink. According to recent
research, if every state adopted a .08 BAC per se law,
hundreds of lives would be saved every year, with thousands
of injuries prevented and millions of dollars saved.

For more information on .08 per se laws, see NHTSA's Setting Limits,

Saving Lives--The Case for .08 BAC Laws,
DOT HS 808 524, January 1997. And visit the
NHTSA home page at http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov.
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