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Administrative License Revocation
Background
The National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration (NHTSA) encourages 
States to require prompt, mandatory 
revocation or suspension of driver’s 
licenses for alcohol and/or other 
drug test failure and/or test refusal.  
Motor vehicle crashes are the 
number one cause of death for 
persons age 3 through 33 in the 
United States.  Forty percent of 
these fatalities are alcohol related.  
Suspending or revoking driver’s 
licenses for those driving while 
under the influence of alcohol or 
other drugs has proven to be a 
successful deterrent, if implemented 
by the state.

Administrative license revocation 
(ALR) laws are based on objective 
chemical tests (usually breath, 
sometimes blood or urine) and are 
similar to «illegal per se» criminal 
laws against impaired driving.  ALR 
allows law enforcement and driver 
licensing authorities to revoke or 
suspend a driver’s license swiftly, 

without long delays, while awaiting 
a criminal trial.  The offender retains 
the right of due process through an 
administrative appeal system.  

Key Facts
■ In 2003, 40 percent of the 42,643 

motor vehicle crash deaths 
nationwide were alcohol-related. 
This percentage equates to 
17,013 alcohol-related deaths in 
that year.

■ Research has found that States 
with ALR laws reduced fatal 
crashes by approximately 9 per-
cent during high-risk (late night) 
periods of alcohol involvement. 

■ Research in Illinois, New Mexico, 
Maine, North Carolina, Colorado, 
and Utah showed significant 
reductions in alcohol-related fatal 
crashes after enacting ALR laws

■ Publicizing a State’s ALR law 
increases its effectiveness. 
For example, one research 
study conducted in Nevada 
found a 12 percent reduction in 
alcohol-related crashes following 
implementation of a publicity 
campaign designed to inform the 
public about the ALR procedure.

■ ALR does not have a major im-
pact on an offender's job or in-
come.  A 1996 study compared 
three ALR States with one non-
ALR State that used other sanc-
tions for impaired driving, and 
found that there was no difference 
between the States in offender 

employment or income.  In both 
ALR and non-ALR States, 94 per-
cent of the offenders who were 
working at the time of their arrest 
were still working one month later; 
4 percent were unemployed; and 
the remaining 2 percent were in 
school.  License revocations as 
long as 90 days did not lead to a 
loss of job or income.

■ Administrative license revocation 
is constitutional and does not 
constitute double jeopardy.  All 
cases in which the highest 
State appellate courts have 
considered these issues have 
held that a separate criminal trial 
for an impaired driving offense 
following an ALR action does 
not constitute double jeopardy 
under either Federal or State 
constitutional law.

■ The U.S. Supreme Court has 
found that the right of due 
process is not violated if a 
driver's license is suspended 
prior to an administrative hearing, 
as long as provisions are made 
for a swift post-suspension 
hearing.  [Mackey v. Montrym, 
443 U.S. 1 (1979)].

How ALR Laws Work?
What Provisions Should Be 
Included In An ALR Law?
■ The language of these laws 

should be consistent with 
the provisions of the State's 
Administrative Procedure Act.



■ The arresting officer should, 
at the time of arrest, serve the 
notice of revocation (suspension), 
take the offender's license, and 
issue a temporary permit.

■ The driver should have the 
opportunity to request an 
administrative hearing.  This 
request, however, should not be 
allowed to delay the revocation 
(suspension).

■ There should be an initial license 
revocation (suspension) period 
for test failure with some period 
of full revocation followed 
by restricted driving during 
any remainder.  Restricted 
driving privileges should be 
permitted only in very limited 
circumstances, and only after 
an initial “hard” revocation 
(suspension) period has been 
served.  The initial license 
revocation (suspension) period 
for a test refusal should be 
longer than the period for 
test failure, with no restricted 
driving privileges.  For a repeat 
DWI offense within five years, 
the revocation (suspension) 
period should be considerably 
longer with no restricted driving 
privileges.  In addition, licensing 
actions should take effect within 
30 days of notice.

■ The administrative sanction 
should be handled separately 
from the criminal proceeding. 
Due to differing procedural 
aspects, the findings and 
outcome of an ALR action should 
not normally affect a criminal 
proceeding, and vice versa.

How Much Does An ALR 
Program Cost?
A 1991 study analyzed the costs 
and benefits associated with 
ALR laws in Illinois, Mississippi, 

and Nevada.  The study revealed 
that start-up and operating costs 
were adequately covered with the 
assessment of license reinstate-
ment fees.  In addition, the annual 
savings in costs for night-time 
crashes that were reduced as a 
result of ALR laws ranged from  
$37 million in Nevada to $104 million 
in Mississippi.

How Can ALR Be Financed?
The offenders, rather than taxpay-
ers, should pay for these programs.  
Some States have significantly 
increased the reinstatement fee for 
drivers whose licenses are revoked 
for driving while intoxicated (DWI); 
some States have raised all rein-
statement fees; and other States 
have increased all license applica-
tion and renewal fees. Other fines 
or fees also can provide funding, 
such as an alcoholic beverage tax 
that can be earmarked for alcohol 
program expenses, including ALR.

Incentive Grant Program
In 1998, Congress passed H.R. 
2400, the Transportation Equity 
Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21). 
TEA-21 made substantial changes 
to the then existing Section 410 
alcohol incentive grant program.  
Pursuant to the Section 410 
program, as amended by TEA-
21, States may qualify for a 
“Programmatic Basic Grant” if they 
demonstrate that they meet five  
out of seven basic grant criteria  
to combat impaired driving, 
including an administrative license 
revocation system. 

To meet this criterion of the Section 
410 grant program, a State must 
have an administrative license 
revocation system that requires:

▼ First offenders be subject to a 
90-day license suspension

▼ First offenders who fail a 
chemical test be subject to 
a 30-day license suspension 
with an additional 60 days of a 
restricted license

▼ Repeat offenders be subject 
to a one-year suspension or 
revocation

▼ Suspensions or revocations 
take effect within 30 days after 
the offender refuses to submit 
to a chemical test or receives 
notice of having failed the test.

The program also requires that 
license suspension and revocation 
periods be “hard”  and not subject 
to exceptions.  A State may 
demonstrate compliance with this 
criterion as either a “Law State” or 
a “Data State” by submitting copies 
of its administrative revocation laws 
or data relating to the sanctions 
imposed under its program.

Which States have ALR?
As of December 2004, 40 States 
and the District of Columbia 
had adopted some form of 
administrative license revocation.  

Alabama  Mississippi
Alaska  Missouri
Arizona  Nebraska
Arkansas  Nevada
California  New Hampshire
Colorado  New Mexico
Connecticut  North Carolina
Delaware North Dakota
Florida  Ohio
Georgia  Oklahoma
Hawaii  Oregon
Idaho  South Carolina 
Illinois  Texas
Indiana  Utah
Iowa  Vermont
Kansas  Virginia
Louisiana  Washington
Maine  West Virginia 
Maryland  Wisconsin
Massachusetts Wyoming
Minnesota
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These reports and  
additional information  
are available from your 
State Highway Safety 
Office, the NHTSA Regional 
Office serving your State, or 
from NHTSA Headquarters, 
Impaired Driving and 
Occupant Protection Office, 
ATTN: NTI-111, 400 Seventh 
Street, S.W., Washington, 
DC 20590; 202-366-2683;  
or NHTSA’s web site at 
www.nhtsa.dot.gov


