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Vehicle and License Plate Sanctions
Background
Revoking or suspending a driver’s 
license is a common penalty for 
many traffic infractions, especially 
those related to impaired driving. 
Unfortunately, many offenders con-
tinue to drive. It is not unusual for 
drivers with a suspended license to 
receive additional traffic citations or 
to be involved in crashes while their 
license has been suspended. To 
reduce this problem, many States 
have enacted laws that address the 
violators’ ability to drive by sanction-
ing their vehicle or license plates for 
an impaired driving offense or for 
driving with a suspended license.

In addition, some States now pro-
vide for vehicles owned by drivers 
convicted of certain impaired driving 
offenses to be impounded or immo-
bilized (with a club or boot), or for-
feited and sold. Other States allow 
the license plates to be removed 

and impounded; provide for the use 
of specially marked license plates; 
or permit installation of alcohol igni-
tion interlock devices.

Key Facts
■ About one-third of all drivers ar-

rested or convicted of DWI each 
year are repeat DWI offenders.

■ Intoxicated drivers with prior DWI 
convictions have 4.1 times the 
risk of being in a fatal crash as 
opposed to intoxicated drivers 
without prior DWIs. Fatal crash 
risk increases with the number of 
prior DWI arrests.

■ Many second- and third-time 
DWI offenders have accumulated 
traffic offenses or been involved 
in crashes during the suspension 
period. In one study, 32 per-
cent of suspended second-time 
DWI offenders and 61 percent 
of third-time offenders received 
violations or crash citations on 
their driving records during their 
suspensions.

■ Many drivers do not reinstate 
their licenses even when eligible 
to do so. In one study involving 
first-time DWI offenders who had 
their licenses suspended for 90 
days, 50 percent had not rein-
stated their licenses three years 
after they were eligible to be 
re-licensed. Also, many of these 
offenders drive without auto in-
surance and do not attend treat-
ment programs when required for 
reinstatement. 

How Effective are Vehicle and 
License Plate Sanctions?
■ Maryland ignition interlock pro-

gram lowered the re-arrest rate 
for repeat alcohol offenders: A 
Maryland study involving 1,380 
repeat alcohol offenders random-
ly assigned participants to either 
an ignition interlock group or a 
control group that did not receive 
the sanction. Alcohol-related traf-
fic re-arrest rates were tabulated 
for a full year. They showed that 
only 2.4 percent of the interlock 
group was re-arrested, while 6.7 
percent of the control group was 
re-arrested. This represents a 
statistically significant difference 
and indicated that the interlock 
program reduced the risk of an 
alcohol traffic violation within the 
first year by about 65 percent. 
However, there were no differ-
ences between groups after the 
interlock was removed.

■ Canadian studies: A series of 
publications describing an ongo-
ing evaluation of a province-wide 
interlock program in Alberta re-
ported that while the offenders 
had interlocks on their vehicles, 
DUI recidivism was substantially 
reduced. Once the interlock was 
removed and the participants’ 
licenses were reinstated, their 
DUI rates were the same as 
other offenders, indicating that 
the interlock reduced recidivism 
only when in place. The limita-
tion of the Alberta program was 



that only a limited number of 
eligible offenders participated 
in the study, so that the overall 
province-wide reduction in recidi-
vism was small (5.0 percent). A 
close examination of the offend-
ers’ data (actual case-by-case 
breath test data when the inter-
lock was being used) indicated 
that repeat offenders who had 
multiple failures on the interlock 
BAC tests were good predictors 
of future DUI offenses (Voas, et 
al., 1999; Marques, et al., 1999; 
Marques, et al., 2001). Future 
work in Alberta and Quebec will 
further clarify how well this infor-
mation will predict future recidi-
vism. Eventually, these studies 
may offer research-based rec-
ommendations about how test 
performance in the early months 
of interlock use might be used to 
extend interlock use for poorly 
performing offenders.

■ Minnesota License Plate 
Impoundment Study: In 
Minnesota, violators incurring 
three DWI violations in five years, 
or four or more in ten years, 
may have their license plates im-
pounded and destroyed. An eval-
uation of the effects of the law 
found a significant decrease in 
recidivism for violators who had 
their plates impounded. Violators 
whose license plates were im-
pounded by the arresting officer 
showed a 50 percent decrease 
in recidivism over a two-year pe-
riod (when compared with DWI 
violators who did not experience 
impoundment).

■ Ohio Impoundment and 
Immobilization Program: In 
Franklin County (Columbus), 

Ohio, researchers (Voas, et al., 
2000) conducted a field test to 
study the deterrent effects that 
a combined impoundment and 
immobilization program has 
on crashes and violations for 
multiple DUI (Driving Under the 
Influence) and suspended license 
offenders. From September 1993 
to September 1995, the vehicles 
of nearly 1,000 offenders were 
impounded and then immobi-
lized. The recidivism rates of 
these offenders were compared 
to eligible offenders who did 
not receive a vehicle sanction. 
Offenders whose vehicles were 
impounded and immobilized had 
substantially lower rates of DUI 
recidivism both during and after 
the termination of the sanction. 
Similar findings were obtained in 
Hamilton County where only ve-
hicle impoundment was used. 

■ California Impoundment 
Program: NHTSA, in conjunction 
with California’s Department of 
Motor Vehicles, conducted a re-
search effort to study the impact 
of California’s new vehicle im-
poundment law as applied to un-
licensed and suspended license 
offenders. The innovative 30-day 
impoundment law is unlike those 
found in most States because it 
involves a civil action indepen-
dent of a criminal driving while 
suspended (DWS) conviction for 
those caught driving without a 
valid license. More than 6,300 
unlicensed drivers and those with 
suspended or revoked licenses 
whose vehicles were impounded 
were compared with a similar 
number of drivers in 1994 whose 
vehicles would have been eligible 

had the 1995 impoundment law 
been in effect. Driving records of 
both groups were compared dur-
ing a one-year period on subse-
quent traffic violations and crash-
es. First-time offenders whose 
vehicles were impounded had an 
average rate of subsequent DWS 
or driving while unlicensed (DWU) 
that was 24 percent lower than 
those whose vehicles were not 
impounded. Repeat offenders 
whose vehicles were impounded 
had 34 percent fewer DWS or 
DWU convictions. Also, both 
first-time and repeat offenders 
whose vehicles were impounded 
had fewer crashes. For first-time 
offenders there was a 25 crash 
percent reduction rate and for 
repeat offenders there was a 38 
percent crash reduction rate.

■ Zebra Tag Program in Oregon 
and Washington States: In 
Oregon, suspended license of-
fenders whose vehicle plates 
were “zebra tagged” had fewer 
subsequent DWI and DWS viola-
tions than suspended offenders 
who did not receive the special 
tags. Also, among suspended 
license offenders, the possibility 
of receiving a zebra tag if re-ar-
rested appears to reduce subse-
quent violations and crashes. A 
similar law in Washington State 
did not affect subsequent viola-
tions or crashes for these types 
of offenders. That law, however, 
was not applied to nearly as 
many drivers and vehicles and 
was not as strongly enforced by 
the police. (Legislators in both 
States allowed the zebra tag law 
to expire.)



Which States have Vehicle Sanction laws?
Forty-four States have laws that affect the vehicles or vehicle plates of offenders.

Vehicle Impoundment  Thirteen States have laws that permit long term impoundments based on a 
  DWI conviction. These States are California, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky,  
 Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Ohio, Oregon, Vermont,  
 and Wisconsin.

Suspension of  In 19 States and the District of Columbia, vehicle registration may be with- 
Vehicle Registration drawn for a DWI offense. States that can withdraw vehicle registrations for  
  a DWI offense are Alabama, Arizona, Hawaii, Indiana, Kansas, Maine,  
  Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota,  
  Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Virginia, and  
  Wyoming. Some of these States have their own enforcement departments that 
   send out investigators to retrieve the license plates from all offender’ vehicle. In  
  general, however, this type of sanction is poorly enforced.

Vehicle Confiscation  Twenty-seven States permit vehicles of DWI offenders (usually of multiple  
  offenses) to be confiscated for DWI offenses, although no state has this as a  
  mandatory provision. These States are Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California,  
  Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri,  
  Montana, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon,  
  Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont,  
  Washington, and Wisconsin.

Vehicle Immobilization  Courts can prevent DWI offenders from using their car by immobilizing the  
  steering wheel (by using a club) or locking a wheel (with a boot). Currently,  
  only Ohio and Nevada uses this type of sanction.

Special License Plates Three States issue special license plates to permit the use of the vehicle by the 
or Plate Markings  family members of convicted DWI offenders. These types of plates are issued in 
  Iowa, Minnesota, and Ohio.

Ignition Interlock  The purpose of an ignition interlock is to prevent a person who has consumed 
   alcohol from operating a vehicle. The device measures alcohol concentration in  
  the breath and is attached to a vehicle’s ignition system. Before the car can be  
  started, a driver must blow a sample of his or her breath into the interlock device.  
  If the driver’s breath alcohol is below a specified concentration, the driver will be  
  able to start the vehicle’s engine. However, if the driver has a breath alcohol  
  concentration above the established level, the vehicle will not start. Forty-two  
  States have laws providing for use of ignition interlock devices for repeat and  
  chronic DWI offenders. The ignition interlock sanction is discretionary in the  
  following States: Alaska, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Indiana,  
  Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire,  
  New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South  
  Carolina, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. 

  The interlock sanction is mandatory in some situations (e.g. repeat DWI offenses)  
  in the following states: Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Idaho,  
  Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, New York, North Carolina,  
  Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington.  
 



These reports and  
additional information  
are available from your 
State Highway Safety 
Office, the NHTSA Regional 
Office serving your State, or 
from NHTSA Headquarters, 
Impaired Driving and 
Occupant Protection Office, 
ATTN: NTI-111, 400 Seventh 
Street, S.W., Washington, 
DC 20590; 202-366-2683;  
or NHTSA’s web site at 
www.nhtsa.dot.gov

To increase the use and 
effectiveness of these laws, States 
should consider the following:

• Laws should provide for admin-
istrative impoundment of plates 
and/or vehicles. 

• Laws should allow for seizure 
at the time of arrest if officers 
impound either the vehicle or 
license plate. It is more difficult 
and costly to track down the 
offender's vehicle later, and the 
delay gives the offender the op-
portunity to transfer vehicle own-
ership.

• Laws should prohibit the owner 
of a motor vehicle from allowing 
another person to drive the vehi-
cle unless the owner determines 
that person holds a valid driver's 
license. Also, non-offender own-
ers should be required to sign an 
affidavit stating they will not allow 
the offender to drive the vehicle 
while the suspension is in effect.

• State record-keeping systems 
should be upgraded or estab-
lished to ensure computerized 
documentation of vehicle (im-
poundment and forfeiture) and 
license plate actions. This would 
allow States to monitor the use of 
the sanctions.

• Impoundment laws should be 
applied to all repeat DWI offend-
ers and to all persons who have 
been convicted of driving with 
suspended or revoked licenses 
where the offenders’ original sus-
pension or revocation was for a 
DWI offense 

• Laws that provide for special 
license plates (e.g., family plates 

or license plate sticker laws), 
should incorporate a provision 
that permits officers to stop the 
vehicle for the sole purpose of 
checking whether the driver has 
a suspended license.
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